Let dynamo check the parameter types and his values

Dear people,

I’m trying to get all Type Parameter Values from an old Family and push them in to a new Family.
In the new Family there have been some updates like formulas and more added parameters etc.

But the Type Parameters from the old Family are exactly the same as in the new Family.
I only want the Values from the old family pushed in to the new Family with Dynamo behind the correct Type Parameter.

The Familys contains more Type’s, so i select one type (old fam.) and compare the values, i make an export to excel and compare the data from the excel with an other type (new fam).
thats why i select an element in Dynamo.

This is my first time with dynamo so i hope you could keep it simple :slight_smile:
I hope i am clear enough.

Hope to hear from you!

@r.evers
Welcome to the forum. I hope you read the intro. Etc…

I am just helping on a separate topic but maybe this topic will help you extract your old parameters value to excel.

Try the setup and once you happy with your export will deal with writing excel values to your new family…

Sounds like a plan???

Thank You, i could try it but is see that every parametervalue has been added seperatly.
I have more then 1000 parameters :slight_smile: (made a very smart element).
So the link is good, but i want that dynamo will search for the type parameter and his value, and put thie right value behind the same Type parameter in the new Revit Family for more then 1000 parameters.

Ah ok…so how you proposed to get your parameters name to dynamo is it via excel? You will have this 1000 parameters name in excel and feed that to dynamo to get their old values? Is that correct?

The export to excel is now for me a way to see the data.
So i can copy the values into the new family. this is an manual way… very brainless haha

For me it would be great to skip the export to excel.