Automation of Area Boundary Lines

Hello!

Does anyone know if it is possible to automate the placement of all area boundary lines in a plan view by the wall centerline? To take this a step further, would it be possible to only place area boundary lines in a plan view by wall centerline for walls only on a certain workset?

When creating a new area plan, Revit will generate boundaries for walls to the interior or exterior of what Revit perceives as shell walls.

In reading this post: http://dynamobim.com/forums/topic/creating-area-boundaries-in-revit-from-dynamo/ It seems possible to generate area boundary lines from a single room. Would it be possible to do this with multiple rooms as well?

I am working through the previous example with some errors. I am pretty new to Dynamo.

Thanks! Em
<p style=“font-weight: 300;”>

</p>

Hi Emily,

Yes it is possible, see below how.

2 Likes

WOW! Amazing - thank you. I am going to test this right now. Very exciting.

Early joy :). Let me know the result. Good Luck!

This is SO incredible. This literally saves days and days and days of work. Thank you so much! :slight_smile:

I am finding that the script generates 2669 lines for me in about 5 - 10 minutes. I probably only need half that amount.

The project I am testing this in has 5 phases and 5 different buildings combined to make one building. (museum renovation typology)

This script is picking up all of the lines for all of the walls in all of the phases. Is there another node for filtering either by phase or workset?

I’ll google it, but I figured I would ask.

This is seriously incredible. Thanks again!

1 Like

Workspace: