SOLVED - [Very Basic] Create sheets in Revit from Excel

Hi,

I’m very new to dynamo.

The first thing I would like to achieve is create sheets in Revit that my manager have created in excel spreadsheet. for now just the Sheet number and Sheet name should be enough, other parameters will be learned along the way.

I’ve tried creating the graph, no error message but no sheets created as well.
Create Sheet

May I know what mistake have I done?

Thank you very much in advance.

Victor

Hi @Ignatius_Victor_Sury

We use the node Sheet.ByNameNumberTitleBlockAndViews for this.
If you try the Search button in the topright of your screen, im sure you will find lots of post regarding Sheets.
Hope it works for you.

Marcel

2 Likes

Hi @Marcel_Rijsmus, thank you very much for your reply.

When I use the Sheet.ByNameNumberTitleBlockAndView, the sheets were still not created as follow:
Create Sheet_Function

Then I rename the excel file name to suit the content, reload the dyn file that from my previous post and hit Run. and miraculously the sheets were created:
Create Sheet_Worked

I don’t know why the first time it didn’t worked, but after I rename the excel filename and reload the dyn file, it worked.

I create a new project in Revit, run dynamo, load the dyn file, and it worked again… so… maybe I’m in the very basic right track even though I don’t know why it doesn’t work the first time.

I’ll read some more from other posts…

Regards.

Victor

Hi @Ignatius_Victor_Sury

In general you could say that using spaces in filenames is bad practise.
Ive seen other post here where something didn’t work until the spaces in filenames or foldernames were removed and tada…it worked.

Marcel

1 Like

Hi @Marcel_Rijsmus

I see, I will note that…
Thank you very much once again, I’ll continue my learning from here to other parameters now…

Best Regards.

Victor

Where did you find the Sheets.CreateSheets custom node ?

Where did you find the Sheets.CreateSheets custom node ?

1 Like