Microsoft Office (Excel) vs LibreOffice/OpenOffice

I do not have MS Office installed, as I use LibreOffice/OpenOffice.

I’m building a script to import a long set of Sheets from a consultant that uses Autocad + Excel, and create the placeholder sheets for those.

Is there a way to bypass MS Office and call LibreOffice/OpenOffice, as I get the “Excel is not installed” error for the “ExcelRead” node.

Thanks for your help/suggestions!

I tried to solve your issue, but it is too timeconsuming for me as I’m not an expert in this field by any means. But here is what I wanted to do, in order:

1. Try to find a .dll library that has ability to open .ods directly, import .dll in dynamo directly with zero touch import: https://github.com/DynamoDS/Dynamo/wiki/Zero-Touch-Plugin-Development and then place ods-reader as a node.
  2. An openoffice document is really just a collection of .xml files, unpack with 7-zip or similar software and search for xml-reader/parser .dll that can be imported directly in dynamo. then set the content.xml as input file.
  3. if .dll’s cannot be found, try to find ironpython scripts that can be called from a pythonscript in dynamo.

I hope somebody have got the time to solve this, in true opensource spirit! :wink:

Jostein - thanks for trying to help. I’ll look myself into solving this following the path you suggested. Once I have something working, I’ll post here.

Hello

I know this post is very old but it’s still relevant for me. I would like export data to libre office. I know that’s possible with excel but i didn’t found the solution for libre office.

thanks for your help and sorry for my english

Have you tried using the CSV nodes instead? LO works great with csv files.

Perfect It works. But I still have problem with font and unity. I gonna look for the good setting.
Thanks for your help !

Have you tried using Unicode encoding?