Issue with Cutting Extrusion Element with Void using Element.CutGeometry

Hello All,
I would greatly appreciate any help or guidance with the following issue. I am a complete beginner, so please make your responses explicit (i.e., explained fully and clearly, and not the other meaning of ‘explicit’ :wink:)

Objective: Cut an extrusion family element (a plate) with a void family element. This is a basic test of the flow before applying to multiple void elements to implement drill holes. Currently, I am trying to achieve this objective using the Element.CutGeometry node from the Clockwork package (but I am willing to try other nodes and packages).

Issue: ‘success’ output for Element.CutGeometry is ‘false’ and the void does not cut the extrusion. I have attached a picture of the flow result beside a view of the plate and void, because I cannot upload the flow file and the family files.

Environment: Revit 2021.1.7, Dynamo Revit 2.6.2.15772, Dynamo Core 2.6.2.15705 and Clockwork for Dynamo 2.x.

Please help me Dynamites, you’re our only hope.

Hi @ISECnico and welcome…havent tried but is it even possible manuel with a plate component ? if i remember right the geometry is some proxy element…

Don’t use plate, anchors, bolts anymore…

Hi @ruben.romero ,its that really your answer and the solution ??? then i would say never use computer anymore :wink:

1 Like

@ruben.romero Thank you for your suggestion. This model requires the modelling of plates and bolt holes.

Hi @sovitek, thank you for your consideration. I understand that my input form (component) might not be correct for the node. I am a beginner, so can you point me to some more information on proxy elements and how to convert to that form, because I do not know anything about them.

1 Like