How To Turn Solids Into Materials

Hey, does anyone know how I can turn Dynamo solids into Revit materials? For instance, I’m working on a “pagoda.” (It’s pretty basic, but you get the idea.) I want to make the lofted base and eaves into brick and the finial (pointed top) into steel. Here’s the model I’m talking about.

Any help would be appreciated.

FamilyInstance.ByGeometry in the Springs package would be a good place to start.

I can try that. I’ve never used this node before, though. Could you tell me what each input needs?

Hey,

A quick search of the forum brought up this post, hopefully it gives enough info to get get you going…

Cheers,

Mark

1 Like

Thank you for finding another forum, but it didn’t seem to be much help. I know which node to use, but I don’t know what’s supposed to go in each one. Like, if I just have a sphere, how do I turn it into a ball of brick in Revit? (Does that question make sense? I know it was a weird example, but that’s essentially what I need to figure out.)

Can you show what you have tried? Hard to help guide you into the right solution if we don’t know where you are.

Note that doing the exercise with the sphere instead of the complex data is likely enough to get you started. :slight_smile:

1 Like

The forum post shows you what to put into each input?

Hope that helps,

Mark

Okay, that definitely helps me figure out where everything goes, so thank you for that. One last thing is that even though I think everything is in the right place, all I see in Revit are blue lines. I’m sorry, but could you help me with that? I’ll take Jacob’s advice and provide the Dynamo file so you can see what I mean in Revit. Bennett_FinalProj(V3).dyn (142.6 KB)

Tail end of your graph: