How to extract revit dimension values and export to excel

i am new to making dynamo graphs to do revit tasks.

i used the attached dynamo graph to extract dimension values of revit dimension and tried to export the values along with dimension suffix text into excel. but failed

please see below image of dimenions in revit i want to extract dimension values from and export them to revit.

thanks, gideon

Get all elements of category (dimension). There are nodes to get the value/suffix/etc from these dimension elements.

thanks for your help. after change, see an excel sheet showing many rows with the cells having the words “dimension” but see no numbers. after second run, no more excel values show.

but my orignal idea is to extract the numbers with a specific dimension suffixes and export the numbers along with the suffxies to excel.

thanks, gdieon

“There are nodes to get the value/suffix/etc from these dimension elements.”

but my orignal idea is to extract the numbers with a specific dimension suffixes and export the numbers along with the suffxies to excel.

Once you have those suffixes you could check if that suffix equals/contains/startswith a piece of text in a string, then use FilterByBoolMask to get the dims that match that check, you can then get the value of those dimensions and suffixes to export.

i think there is a node named dimension.style out there, i am using dynamo 1.8, i couldn’t find dimension.style node in it even after i installed archi-lab package for 2024.217.

i wrote these codes

and then i get nothing in my excel file.

if you can help, i would greatly appreciate it.

sincerely, gideon

sorry, not dynamo 1.8 , i am currently using dynamo 2.8

Suggest looking at these nodes:

hi, I get this error in the dimension.suffix node

Dimension.Suffix expects argument type

(s) (Revit.Elements.Dimension), but was

called with (string).

for the following graph:

please help me to solve the error if you can and want.

thanks, gideon