Help with PathOfTravel using RevitAPI

Hi I am new to Revit and Dynamo Scripting,

Currently in a project where the system is capable of creating pathways and hallways in a BIM model just from the start and end points from the user. See I am aware that is system is possible by using the PathOfTravel Tool available in Revit, But what am trying to achieve is a system where the path of travel lines are made of 90 degree lines only. Path Of Travel tool typically finds the best and the shortest route and doesn’t mind about the angles of the lines. So iterative system using python scripting where the program runs until it figures it if the path of travel lines that are present only contain straight lines only. I was able to receive some help in getting the vectors from the path of travel and was even able to make few of the lines straight but the issue would be that I would need to insert way points within the lines to make them straight. Inserting way points using the existing nodes are fairly simple but I need them to be present in a python script so I could make the system be iterative and provide with fairly correct result.

The issue is that for the python script I was able to declare the necessary libraries from the revit api in the python script and apparently the insert way point function requires the waypoint location and index but declaring them in the script shows up with an error and saying that the arguments are incorrect.

This is how I declared it: waypoint = PathOfTravel.InsertWaypoint(“chosen point”,“index”)

I am awaiting for an response please help!!!

@abishek12354 ,

you can check this, maybe there are similarities

Is your chosen point a Revit XYZ object? If you are using the Dynamo geometry library you will have to convert it first. Best to share your code for review if not (or if you need help converting this specific data type).