Family Types Node - cannot find family in the dropdown list, it exists in the model Dynamo is running and also in the Project Browser

Hello everyone, i am new to Dynamo, and i ran into this problem that is sucking the life out of me for the past couple of days:

I am trying to get the start and end Points’ coordinates for some cable trays using the .dyn file in the attached picture. (i cropped multiple pictures into 1 cause i can only attach 1 pic)

If i use Element.GetLocation i get a line, of which points’ i can clearly see in the list - start & end point, together with their coordinates but i can’t extract the points from the line, not with Dynamo’s proprietary Nodes.
(i want to avoid using custom libraries, i heard if Dynamo updates those libraries are not guaranteed to be updated by the nice people who create them)

Q1. If you use a custome node in Python, does that one break too if Dynamo updates?

So i read somewhere that using Family Instance Get Location i will get the 2 separate points - start and end. EASY, right? WRONG! :smiley:

THE PROBLEM is that the target family’s name does not show in the drop down list of the Family Types node! Not even something generic like “cable trays” is showing there, how is this possible?

So i found online a workaround, first line of nodes in the picture. Which behaves really strange, it first extracts the name of the Family Types in the Cable Tray category but then when it tries to get the Family Type by the same name it says the name is not found!
Is it something i am missing? Am i so fixated on the issue that i cannot see the forest for the trees?

Picture explained even if it may be obvious

• top part is the actual model Dynamo is running on,you can see the tray, type name, family in Project Browser
  • middle part the 2 unsuccessful Dynamo approaches
  • bottom part - Element.Location lines list with points in () which i don’t know how to extract…and Select all by category working just fine for Trays

A few remarks: