Does anybody know how to parametrize this?

Hello everybody, so i’m kind of new to dynamo but im very excited to learn it more!!
So i created this roof structure using only Revit. First i made an adaptive component, then i uploaded it into a mass which had a divided surface and connected the nodes. However i couldn’t figure out a way to parametrize the following: i wanted to have the lenght of these leaf-like structures affect their thickness, so that when they longer or shorter they would all look proportional to each other. I swear i broke my head trying to do that in Revit but couldnt figure out how, maybe in Dynamo is possible now???

It is. Add a parameter (Instance) to your Adaptive Component which creates the thickness behaviour you want. In Dynamo you’ll need to get the heights of each ‘leaf’ (easy to do if you have a reporting value in your AC), then simply write a function which yields a width based on the height. Final step is simply to update the width parameter in each AC using the Element.SetParameterValueByName node

1 Like

Thanks for replying Thomas. Ok, so from what i understood is to set a parameter for the thickness behaviour, which i had tried before and tried again just now.

What i did there was to set an instance parameter for the thickness and a reporting parameter for the length. However when i wanna set the behaviour for the thickness, (which is thickness=Length/15) i get a message that says a reporting parameter can only be used in a formula only if its reference will be the host on an element in a family. And thats the point where in the past i had gotten stuck.

This is the point where i had tried everything that i know in Revit until i discovered Dynamo and thought maybe i could get around here. But as i followed your instructions i still have to get through this stage before attempting anything in Dynamo…

Correct me if Im wrong or if i didnt follow

There’s two things to ponder:

1. You don’t need Dynamo for this