Creating wall finishing with room height and room boundary

Hi everyone I am going to make a script to create all wall finishing by room.

I have set the parameter for ceiling height and wall type in the room.
However there are 2 issues and I really need help:

1. walls are created in wall centerline but not wall face.
  2. linked model is not creating wall finishing.

First issue is major issue and I need to fix it asap. Any know how to fix this issue? Thank you.

Becuase I am new to Dynamo and all I use is the Wall finishing package from modelical. Only an easy node to input the ceiling height and wall type. That’s it. Please advise if there is any better way to create wall finishing.

You could get the thickness of the finish wall then move it by half that amount to position it correctly.

Second dependson how things are set up. Link rooms in a linked model? Rooms in active model but with boundaries from the link model? Depends on how exactly you’ve got things set up you may have to use slightly different methodologies to get the room boundaries.

1 Like

Thank you so much for answering!

It is the dynamo script I am using which is very basic. I just use the modelical package to setup this.

After I create the finishing, the wall finishing location is the wall centerline not finish face.

The column is from linked strutural model and there is no finishing.

What node should I add in order to fix it? Or should I create a dynomo without using this package node? Thank you!!

Get room. Get room boundaries. Plug these curves (and the other info you need) into Wall.ByCurveAndHeight. (Or use the node you’re currently using, it’s the same result with the wall aligned at centreline).

Get the width of the wall type. Get the Curve.NormalAtParameter 0.5, scale the resulting vector by half the width of the wall (you may also have to reverse the vector). You can then use this with Element.MoveByVector to get the wall to where you want it.