Conduit Run Lengths

I am a self admitted total newb to Dyanmo but I am hoping you nice folks can help me out with something I want to create. I am looking to be able to select a conduit run and have dynamo extract the overall length of the conduit run and populate a shared or project parameter with the value it extracts so that I can build a tag that will allow me to give the guys in the field run lengths without having to generate a bunch of schedules for small stuff like smurf tube in the deck. Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Some examples of your attempts might help to explain your intent better.

A sample Revit file would help too.

Hi Mike Vikram is right- if you provide some more information and demonstrate an attempt, you most likely get a response. This is a great forum. To get you started- the first bit would be extracting the run lengths- refer below Have a go at trying to work out how to feed the run length data back into the individual conduit parameter

Thanks for the quick response guys I really appreciate it. So I have uploaded a revit file with the parameter that I am trying to populate with the overall run length. I have also included a horrible example of the dynamo script which of course does not work because I have no idea how to get dynamo to extract multiple lengths add them up and then somehow filter that into the set parameter value by name node. Hopefully I have enough info here for you nice folks to help me out but please let me know if there is any other info you need from me to make this more clear. Thanks again for your patience with me being a newb and all.

Run Lengths Attempt conduit run length tag request Run Lengths Attempt

For some reason the revit file did not seem to come with the last upload so I am trying again Run Lengths Attempt

There does not appear to be an easy way to extract the individual parts (conduits, fittings) from the conduit run

As a fudge:

• you could use the 'comments' parameter.