Combining multiple text notes into one

I’m pretty new to Dynamo and feel like I have a pretty basic script in mind. When we import details from acad, all the mtext gets broken into single line text notes in Revit. (Incidentally, if anyone knows how not to make that happen, I’d appreciate a hint!) We have a file with a ton of details that an intern imported a summer or two ago, but now we want someone to combine lines of text back into one multiline text note. I’d think a Dynamo script would make that less painful but I’m having trouble getting it going.

I did find this thread in my searches, but aside from alerting me to Clockwork and getting that installed, I’m not much further.

I’d love some help. Thanks!

Dynamo now has TextNote.Text (I’m assuming it wasn’t always an OOTB node if a Clockwork one was made). You’ll still want Clockwork though to get the Text Note location points with Clockwork’s Element.Location (the OOTB GetLocation node will not work with text notes). Download the package Springs as well; I think the node Springs.Geometry.GroupByDistance might work with the points you pull from Element.Location

1 Like

First up: I really dislike importing content like this. 90% of the time you are spending more hours than you are saving long term.

I’ll piggy back on that looking into the various codes which were written to check the text shift when upgrading from 2016 to 2017 can be utilized to help your text box size (I believe these have no end by default).

Also, please check your line styles to purge unused imported styles, and remap the imported ones to the ones in use. Those are FAR more annoying IMO, as I can always move all 3 text boxes.

I dislike it as well, but this decision was made long before I was here to have any input. I’ll check out your suggestions. Thanks!

Is there no way to just pull the info from one text box, add the info from another text box, and then put them together in a new text box?