What are Sheet Coordinates? How do they Work?

Sorry if this is a really basic question. I’m still very new to Dynamo.

Certain nodes request inputs in the form of sheet coordinates (currently I’m looking at the ScheduleOnSheet nodes). I’m curious what kind of input this is expecting, and, further, what sheet coordinates even mean. My assumption is that sheets must have an origin point somewhere, and that the x coordinate would move the point to the right, while the y coordinate would move the point up and down. Here’s a few specific questions I would like answers to:

1. How do I know where the origin point of a specific sheet is? Is there a way in Revit to display the origin point of a sheet?

2. What units do the coordinates work with? If my document is set to feet and inches, would (1.0, 0) be 1’ or 1" away from my origin?

3. What happens if I plug in a Z coordinate? Is it just ignored? Point.ByCoordinates nodes seem to output a Z by default, so can this even be used as a sheet coordinate? Or is there another node that is better suited for sheet coordinates?

Knowing the answers to these should be enough to get me going. Feel free to share anything else that might be helpful to know about working with points and coordinates in Dynamo. Thanks in advance!

1. You’ll need to check the construction of the titleblock family that frames the sheet. Ideally the corner of the sheet is 0,0 (so that your Thing On Sheet insertion coordinates logically line up), but this isn’t always the case as firms that construct their own titleblock families aren’t necessarily aware that this level of automation can exist and start building the family in open space in the family editor.

2. I believe it’s Dynamo default measurement units (feet)

1 Like

You’re correct. Sheets have coordinates.

1. How do I know where the origin point of a specific sheet is? Is there a way in Revit to display the origin point of a sheet?