Wall/Part panelization minimizing waste

Im looking for some guidance on what steps to take to modify the following script by @JacobSmall.

It works well for horizontal (floor/roof) planes, but I want to split the insulation layer of a precast wall into 4’x8’ sheets. I want to eliminate the need for the sloped glazing step as I do not want to generate any new geometry.

What would I need to do to have the script generate curves on the surface as per the calculation (minimize waste/maximize full sheets), then draw reference planes at those curves, then divide the parts by reference plane using teh Parts.Divide Parts node? Or can i use Geometry.Split to skip the reference plane step?

I’m fairly new to Dynamo, but hopefully can figure something out if someone can point me in the right direction!

Hi Chris, welcome :wave:

Please read How to get help on the Dynamo forums

In this workflow, we are using the graph to create a sloped glazing element in Revit. This enables material takeoff and better downstream use of the results

I would look at Curtain Walls to do the similar role for a vertical element as the sloped glazing

The GD component will give you the optimised result - then open the result in Dynamo which you could add an additional set of nodes with an ‘execution gate’ to modify the Revit file to the selected result

Note: I would think that insulation panels are installed in a staggered pattern to improve strength / reduce cracking

Thanks Mike, I will look into Curtain Walls as an option. I’ll need to test this outside of dynamo to ensure it fits into the larger workflow first. I’m thinking working with the native Part (insulation wythe) will still be preferred but maybe there is a way to overlay the curtain wall grid onto the host surface and use it as a reference to divide the Part