Using Dynamo to create a GUI - is it possible?

Hi,

I have been using Revit for the last 4 years however I am completely new to Dynamo and would like to start experimenting.

I have a feature that I would like to try and integrate in my Revit Models, but I am not sure if it is at all possible within Dynamo and the complexity for a novice.

I have several families within my Revit project that I use for indicating assets, within this family these are all assigned to a room. What I would like to do is to have some form of GUI that allows the user to select a room or multiple rooms and then isolates in a 3D view all the elements within this room.

Is it possible to use Dynamo to create a simple GUI?

My apologies for my naivety, I am still early days within researching and learning dynamo but wondered if it is at all possible.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

T

Not sure how much of a GUI you’re after, but the DataShapes package has some great nodes (called UI++) to generate sequential UIs with drop downs and such.

I recommend going all the way through the Primer first though - cover to cover, skip nothing. Even if it feels like you’ll never need to do that task, it’s about the concepts covered not the results.

2 Likes