Trying to create graph for room study

I’m trying to create a graph for a room study that has 5 main components:

• Overall building footprint (either walls or some generated outline)
  • Circulation hallway (specific width and length)
  • Bedroom 1 (# ft x # ft) (known dimensions)
  • Bedroom 2 (# ft x # ft) (known dimensions)
  • Bedroom 3 (# ft x # ft) (known dimensions)
    Yes, it would be nice if someone just provided me a graph to do this, but I wouldn’t learn anything;>
    I would like some input on either some examples to look at or ways of thinking of how to approach this problem. I saw a video posted by @jacob.small here…https://youtu.be/sjxRrfU2syQ that caught my attention, but it does not go into how the graph was created to generate the output of the study.
    I’ve been using Revit for 14 years but brand new to Dynamo…finally diving in to see how I can use its potential!

Hi @ghideg ,

Let me tell you straight away what I recommend, don’t start with Generative Design.
This is, however, my opinion (maybe others have another opinion), since I think that for beginners Generative Design/ Refinery is just simply too complex if you have no Dynamo programming or coding background/ knowledge.

Have you done anything in Dynamo so far, or anything programming related?

If not, I would recommend by creating maybe a parametric building or roof design through Dynamo first. Or maybe a script which places objects along a curve to learn about, for example, list structure.

Also, the Dynamo Dictionary is great! Dynamo Dictionary (dynamobim.com)

1 Like

+1 to this, but also if you really want to to generative design identify what you want to solve first and how you measure that success. Computers don’t know what a good layout is unless you tell them. If your spaces are of known size then generative design probably isn’t very valuable in such a case.