Translation - Mass change of all Family Types

I am new to Dynamo and want to get better. This script works for small projects, but not for larger projects.

The objective : to have all Generic Annotation families in a project with types ending in “- ANG” to be changed to “- FRA” when the project information parameter LANGUE is set to “FRA” (and vice versa, if the parameter is set to ANG).

Also how do I create a statement that says, IF the project information parameter says FRA, THEN the switch from ANG-FRA will happen. While also saying, IF the project information parameter says ANG, THEN the switch from FRA-ANG will happen.

I would appreciate feedback on this script to see what I can improve in my dynamo script writing.

Hi Mason,
You have certainly chosen a steep learning curve
Things to consider:

• You will have to create pairs of types to reference
  • Then for each instance of a type based on the extension, swap the type based on the language
  • Type naming will have to be quite strict as there maybe types from other families with the same name

Please note that it is best to export the graph by zooming in so text is legible and using the ‘Export as Image > Workspace’ or the :camera: icon at the top right - this will capture the full graph with detail

Example below which builds a reference dictionary of families which has dictionaries of types with ANG or FRA suffixes.

Note that a road block you will encounter here is groups which do not support changes in the API. I would consider reloading the alternate language families over each other vs load/swap all instances due to this. Hopefully they use the same type names.

1 Like

Hi Mike,

Thank you for providing this script, it has been helpful. However, I have gotten it to work smoothly yet.