Space syntax / adjacency relationships generation

Hello Beautiful Dynamo Community!

I’m wondering if anyone has experience utilizing Dynamo for iterative adjacency studies, like this one in grasshopper: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SgTiGKkDD0U.

Is this possible in Dynamo? I’m a Dynamo noob, but I’d really like to learn it and I feel like this could be a great opportunity to learn it while achieving a study I need to complete for my thesis.

Thanks! Andrew

Andrew - I have been experimenting with using Dynamo to generate designs from scratch, way before I begin to imagine physical design solutions. While I’d say my approach is the inverse of what I saw in your link, it is more about abstract ideas finding expression in lines of code and resulting in their physical manifestation, than just establishing spatial relationships. A rough outline of my approach

• I use dynamo to create a site specific contextual mass.
  • Then I sub divide this mass based on their spatial qualities
  • Various configurations of sub divisions (rooms) are obtained by altering parameters (primarily height, so far)
  • The obtained mass is then imported into Revit and developed further
The actual process may be a lot more elaborate and detailed, but the above points capture the gist of the basic design process that can (and should) be extended further. A code based approach to complete building design. I don't know if it can mimic everything that grasshopper does, but it sure is quite powerful if you can think creatively and originally. Hope the following examples give you an idea of Dynamo's potential as a design tool. Below is an example. I'll post more in separate posts below as I'm unable to attach them in an orderly manner, in this post.

Bauhaus Dessau Museum Design Competition

Bauhaus Museum Dessau

1 Like

BCC2454-3

Guggenheim Helsinki Design Competition

or on the Competition Website

GH-8318189361-Part-B-4