Solar Panels based on panel size (Regular surface)

Hello Everyone,

I am a newbie in the world of Dynamo and need your assistance to go further in my exploration of creating solar panels on a regular rectangular sloped surface. I am trying to create a set of grid points based on the size of solar panels (flexible) , so that I can go ahead and turn them into a set of quads. Until now I am able to divide the surface in the ‘U’ direction as intended, However I want to reverse the order of points that have been created based on a boolean value. I am planning to use the same approach even in the ‘V’ direction to create the set of points. It would be really helpful if anybody can help me go further or have a better solution than this approach. The aim further:

1. To create the solar panels using quad points.
  2. Find the possible collision with other revit objects (Link files, IFC files) and not to place panels in those areas or display the panels colliding in another colour.
  3. By using the centroid of each polygon created, place the solar panels in the Revit model.

Thanks in advance. It would be of great help.

Instead of quad points you should look into a single surface being arrayed by coordinate systems. Surface.CoordiantSystemAtParameter should get you started there. Then use a Geometry.Transform node to push your uniformly sized rectangles/surfaces around the limits of the surface. These can then be tested for containment inside the extents of the surface, as well as against other objects.

1 Like