Smarten up the building planning process in a parametric way

Dear Dynamo users,

I am a construction engineering student and currently I am graduating on the subject: Smarten up the building planning process in a parametric way.
The building planning is related to a parametric design.
This means when the input of a parametric design changes, the output of the design, as well as the overall time of the related building planning changes.
The parametric design is a simple construction model of a square building. By editing the input parameters (such as width, length, height, floors, etc.) the building becomes larger/smaller.
I am investigating the opportunities within Dynamo to export a parametric design to any building planning software (4D BIM).
I have been given the freedom to examine and recommend any planning software to the company where I am currently graduating.

The best case scenario is when I edit the input of my parametric design, the related building planning changes with it automatically.

I examined different approaches to make this possible.

Approach 1:

1. Write a Dynamo script to generate a simple parametric design (described as above).
  2. At the end of this script I will add a node, which exports the required data from the parametric design to an IFC file (or any other file which is related to any building planning software).
  3. Afterwards I manually have to open any chosen building planning software and import the IFC file.
  4. After every edit of a parametric design I have to update it within the chosen building planning software.

I think approach 1 is possible, but I don’t think it is the most efficient way.

Approach 2:

1. Write a Dynamo script to generate a simple parametric design (described as above).
  2. At the end of this script I will add a node, which exports the required data from the parametric design to an IFC file (or any other file which is related to any building planning software).