Parametric optimalisation of constructional parts

Hello Dynamo BIM forum, I’m doing my thesis on parametric design and I’d like to consult all of you before consolidating the ideas for my research subject, since most of you have a lot more experience & knowledge in this field than I do.

Here’s my plan:
creating a model with parametric input that will optimize the dimensions of constructional parts ( for now: floors beams and columns). This optimization will be done using a feedback loop ( most likely trough Excel) and will look something like this:

dimensional input -> calculations -> check if the resulted dimensions are under- or overdimensioned -> adjust dimensional input –> loop back with adjusted dimensional input

I am aware of the possibilities for creating this kind of model in Rhyno + Grasshopper + Karamba but have decided I want to discover the possibilities to do this kind of dimensional optimization with Dynamo + Revit as base programs, since a lot of companies in Europe are very Autodesk oriented, as far as I know.

The calculation program’s I have considered using:

• Sofistik – no loop functionality as far as I know.
  • React Structures – seems to be still under development or even discontinued? (bummed about this one, looked great).
  • Robot structural analysis, works together with a specific dynamo package, but have heard mixed opinions on Robot structural analysis itself.
  • Excel – not only using Excel as loop program but actually doing calculations in excel, requires a lot of work in Excel since every calculation has to be written. Upside of this method is that future users of the model most likely already have this installed.

If any of you have suggestions for using (or not using) a specific calculation program or just some tips regarding this subject, please let me know. I greatly appreciate your time and any feedback I get.