Set multiple material parameters to null

I’m using the Elements.SetParameterToNone node from Springs to reset material parameters for several elements to “By Category”. It works great when I define the exact parameter name I want to change in a string and plug that into the paramName input, but fails when I try to feed it a list of parameter names. I’ve tried using String from Object to convert the list of parameter names to a string, but that doesn’t work. I’m new to Dynamo, so perhaps I am missing something obvious?

@Amanda_Lunger_AM ,

i can`t see your input to elements, but i think you have to flatten your list —> elements…

KR

Andreas

thanks, that didn’t seem to make a difference though. here is the full screen cap:

Since we have a hodgepodge of furniture families all built differently, i figured I needed to have a set of nodes to take care of instance material parameters and another set to deal with type material parameters. But neither of those operations seem to work once i feed a list of parameter names into the node.

We can’t see your nodes. You need to zoom in far enough to be able to see the node names, then hit the export workspace as image button. It can also be useful to pin the preview dropdowns on important nodes.

1 Like

You’ll have to use list levels.

Does each element contain all 4 parameters or is that just an attempt to cover your bases?

1 Like

oops, thanks for that. i’ve rexported the image.

not all elements contain all of the parameters, so if there is a more elegant way to go about this I’m open to suggestions!

The better option would be to get the elements and check for parameters with each of those names to only get the one parameter needed, but in theory it should still work with all parameters. You just need to get the list levels working since the node seems to be setup for only a single parameter.