Serious Dynamo Speed Problems

Hi all,

I have been working in Dynamo for several months now. Recently, I have been experiencing extreme slow-down of Dynamo, when I open certain graphs. I have been trying to find the cause, but have had no luck so far.

I am using Dynamo 2.0.1, and Revit 2018, and just did a full clean reinstall of revit and dynamo, and deleted all packages. When I try to open my graphs, some are still painfully slow (to the point of being unusable).

Has anyone experienced something similar? I’ve looked through the forum posts and have tried all of the possible solutions, but to no avail.

I’ll upload an example of the problematic graphs (there is a Custom Node definition and a normal .dyn)

ProjectCounter-181014-1930.dyn (137.5 KB)
Val_MullionCounter_181014-1910.dyf (3.8 MB)

Thanks for any help!

did you see your file size?

open a new project with nothing in it
run your graphs (on nothing)
save your graphs
check the file size

I just tried your suggestion.
I opened a new empty Revit file, then a new .dyn, and simply placed my Custom Node:(Val_MullionCounter_181014-1910.dyf) and clicked Run.

The .dyf filesize grew to 7.5 mb!

I am now going to try to create the definition from scratch, unless you have another idea maybe?

Thank you!

Hi @noam.ronen2

I’m sorry i’m still on 1.3x so i can not open your file.
I thought that element bindings in your file was the problem.

@jacob.small might have another suggestion tho.

Maybe this helps

@noam.ronen2,

I can’t open this at the moment. However, I can say that there are no bindings in the file. From reading the text I could see how the large number of nodes and custom functions at play is, some of which are jumping deep into the thick of things. Some list management may help, or breaking your graph into multiple graphs.