Select Elements on Screen - Fill out Parameter

Hello all, I’m very new to Dynamo, and excited to start this fun!

I am looking for a way to select all elements by selection box or all on screen, then have user input a value for a specific Parameter, and Dynamo assign it to all those modeled elements. Is this possible?

This is what I have started with:

Hello !

You have to use “…” for the parameter name too !

Nathan,

That worked Great! I was so close! thank you very much.

Another question if I may?

this is great in Revit 2016 - the goal is to use this in 2017 with the Dynamo Player - in which case how would the end user get to input the value needed to be assigned without opening Dynamo?

I don’t trust the end user!! :sweat_smile:

You can use “pick model elements” from rhythm in place of the select model elements.

I am not quite sure what you mean. can you please share an example? pick elements is the first step I am prescribing…

Pick model elements is a custom node from my package rhythm.

@Mostafa_El_Ayoubi discussed this here. Revit 2017.1 Dynamo player

John,

Cool video, but not quite what I am after.

the process I want is:

1. Run Dynamo Script from Player
  2. User selects Elements (The way I prescribe works great)
  3. A dialogue box opens that the user has to input new value for all categories selected
  4. Script finishes
  5. The End

I guess what I am missing is being able to generate a dialogue box for user input without them being able to edit the dynamo script - I do not want end users to be able to edit the master library of scripts

I have a solution that asks for user input of a string. I’m cleaning the nodes up about. But I will post to rhythm on Monday.

[quote=“john_pierson, post:8, topic:7094, full:true”]
I have a solution that asks for user input of a string. I’m cleaning the nodes up about. But I will post to rhythm on Monday.
[/quote]What’s your new node’s name?

The node is called Rhythm.TextBoxInput