'Running' a dynamo script

Hi guys, I am very new to dynamo.
I have created a node ‘all elements at level’ and another one ‘levels’ where I have selected my desired level.
I now want to ‘run’ a dynamo script so it will actually select them in my revit model

At the bottom of my dynamo page it says run completed but I am interested in actually selecting these in the model

Thanks

Selection in dynamo is usually just to tell it from where to extract the data from. I never saw anybody using Dynamo to select elements in the model. I’m curious if there is a way.

If not, you could just create some V/G rule-based filters and use them to hide everything but elements you want to select. However, it would take some effort because all categories have different search criteria. So, for example, walls have parameter “Base Constraint”, while floors have parameter “Level”. You would need a shared parameter for all elements of many different categories. Then, use dynamo to transfer values from several different parameters (by category) to that shared parameter. Then, you can use the shared parameter for V/G filtering in the model itself.

EDIT: it doesn’t have to be a shared parameter. Standard project parameter will work.

Select the elements?
Well you can do what you want with the elements… But why would you want to just get Dynamo to select them and leave them selected?

@AJHAWKINS - post your graph. :slight_smile:

Hello, look at these nodes
Select Model Element (1 elt)
Select Model Elements (> 1 elt)

double click (on the id Number green in dynamo) watch revit window

Don’t forget to consult dynamoprimer and do the exercises suggested (your progress will only be faster)
The videos are very informative too (very gradual)

Sincerely
christian.stan

2 Likes

Agree
The primer is great!

1 Like

I read this and wonder if you are looking at setting what is selected in the Revit user interface; if so this should help you get started: How to set as selection in Revit?

1 Like