Rooms to Mass

Hi! I’ll start off with the classic “this is my first post, and I am very new to Dynamo” (only been using it for about a week), so that you know where I am coming from with this question.

What I am trying to do:
We were given a giant spreadsheet of rooms and room information along with corresponding CAD plans, and rather than manual create a Revit model from scratch I used macros to create walls from these plans (could probably have done this in Dynamo but I already knew the macro process). Anyway, we want to create conceptual space planning diagrams from this model.
So I want to take the rooms that have been placed and extract their volumes to create colored masses corresponding to their room type (Room Category Code).

My issues:
A.) I was able to generate the masses, however, running dynamo also causes an orange colored mass to appear in other views from the one I am bringing the multi-color masses into.

B.) I created parameters to which each created mass can be named according to the room Name and Number they represent. However, when i select a mass, it indicates a different room name and number from what it actually should be. My guess is that im missing a step in Dynamo that would keep the lists organized.

C.) Finally, and this may be a Revit only question, the generated masses are transparent. Any guesses on how to show them as solid?

Sorry for the novel. Hope this makes sense and someone can help with a fix.
Thanks!

The "orange’ display is your Revit background preview under settings.

To “bake” the elements in Revit. Use Direct Shape, Springs.FamilyInstanceByGeometry or import instance and color with materials.

2 Likes

okay so for…

A) go to preview tab > background 3d preview > Available preview > tick Revit Background Preview off
B) Check this
Rooms to mass.dyn (69.5 KB)

C) Assign a material in that same node to get rid of the transparency issue

3 Likes

Fantastic! Thank you both!

1 Like

Follow up to this question: