Room and Space

I am sorry if this question has been asked before but I am having a hard time finding it if it was.

Does anyone have a good way of checking to make sure a space aligns with a room in a linked model? What I am trying to do is copy some parameters from a linked arch models room to a space in an MEP model. I can get the list of rooms and spaces but I am struggling with matching them up so that I am sure I have the same space for the room combination. I am new to dynamo so thanks in advance for the help.

I’m not too familiar with MEP workflows and extracting data from linked files (Dynamo didn’t extract linked file data when I tried ).

However, I hope this helps. Works if Rooms and Spaces are in the same project file.

File: RoomSpace.dyn

20150716-2

Hi Jeff,

I actually made a script fro that exact purpose.

Hope it works for you!

Script - Room Prams to Space Params(BoundingBox)

Thanks Vikram I will take a look and see how you did it.

1 Like

Thanks Sylvester I will give it a look and see if it works.

Sylvester I get some nodes not loaded errors when I take a look at the one you sent.

Which nodes? You proberly just missing some packege

nodes

install these packeges

archi-lab
SteamNodes
Rhythm
Clockwork

Sylvester, Im a bit confused at what this script is doing. I have modified it as attached but I am still getting nul values when it comes time to write the parameters into my active file. I am as a simple test just trying to take the comments from the rooms in the arch linked model to the comments in the spaces in my active model. What have I done wrong do you know or can you explain the process I am missing? Thanks

Script-Room-Prams-to-Space-ParamsBoundingBox

basically what it’s doing, is checking which room contains a space, and then gets two list one list with rooms and one with the spaces.