Replacing Families

Hello, I have a situation where I have a bunch of column families that need to be replaced with a different column family. They are the exact same in size, just named differently… for this purpose A1,A2,A3,A4 and I need to replace them all with columns B1,B2,B3,B4.

1 Like

Hi ctaiariol,

It is possible, but it can also be a bit difficult depending on the differences between families.

As long as the families are built the same and use the same parameters, it should be easy enough.

Otherwise, it is also a straight-forward task to group the columns in a Revit table, add the family and type parameter, and just change the families in the table. Scripting may not makes sense until it requireds exchanging many different families and family types multiple times in a project.

Thank you for your feedback. I am fairly new to the dynamo environment so I was curious if this would be a good time to practice scripting, solving a real world issue I’ve got at hand. Currently, I am swapping the families in a schedule within Revit.

If you want to play around, then I would suggest starting with a detached copy, isolating a few columns in the views, and start your script by select the model elements and building the logic off of that.

This has the added advantage that you can probably keep your script in automatic mode and keep the computation times low. You will probably need to use some sort of key in order to sort and filter elements. I have been working on large projects and we have type-naming conventions (with abbreviations to avoid typing errors and lengthy names.) The type name is also used extensively for filtering elements in different software applications (including excel) and especially in dynamo.