Renaming PDF Files?

Hi Everyone -

I’m somewhat new to dynamo - been toying with it off and on for the past few months as I have time between tasks here. But something Konrad posted (http://archi-lab.net/printing-pdfs-w-dynamo/) really grabbed my attention as something that would help out my workflow immensely if I could only figure out how to make it function.

I followed the post, I can make the script print my view set from Revit and it’ll name the files they’re Revit default naming, but I’m struggling on where the rename files node gets plugged in, so it’ll rename those files that were printed. I’m still fairly new to all this so I’m probably missing something incredibly obvious, all report out in dynamo indicate “success” … but the rename isn’t actually renaming right now.

I’m posting the image of my dynamo workspace - and a link below just in case that doesn’t function. Any help would be immensely appreciated.

Capture1

Thanks!

More recent workspace

final

its the Identifiers input into Rename Node. Please read my post again, and pay special attention to what I was saying an identifier is. Tip: It’s not a Sheet Element.

Thanks!! - can’t believe I missed that the first time. Got it all up and running now

Hi Chris

Any chance you could post an image of your working code as I just can’t get it to rename the files after printing them?

Follow the link to archi-lab post that the original OP posted on top of this page. Please pay attention to details. All images and information required to make this work are posted on my blog as well as source code.

Hi Konrad I’ve got it working of a fashion but I seem to have to run it twice - once to print the pdf’s, then again to rename them. As it stands I may as well just print from the standard print dialogue and the run the rename bit on it’s own afterwards.

Thanks

Andy

Hi,

First of all thanks for the great work Konrad