Python Methods Syntaxes

Hello, everybody,
I am new to python scripting in dynamo. I want to ask a question that may be ridiculous.
My question is: when I want to use a method from Revit API, how can I know its syntax to write in the script? I believe the answer is clear but I cannot find it out.
Thanks.

From the absolute basics, it depends on whether the class is static or non-static and the same again based on its members. For example a class can be non-static but have static methods or properties. How you make a call to a static or non-static class or member is different conceptually, but the syntax is the same in some respect - using the dot operator - which makes the learning curve low.

Enums are used widely in the Revit API and are called in a similar fashion to static classes (just remember an enum is not a class).

So to know what the correct syntax is you first need to know whether the member you want to call is static or non-static or a type such as an enum, and Revit API docs is a good place to start. Then its easy to get it right each time without trial and error.

1 Like

@Thomas_Mahon Thanks very much for your reply. I have understood the concept but I still get lost. For example, if I want to get the origin of a sheet, when I use the Revit API docs, it states that the origin under the viewsheet class is a public property. Now, how can I get the syntax to use the property?

One of the biggest things to get used to is that Python doesn’t require the declaration of a variable. The variable is created as soon as you assign something to it and is smart enough to know that it’s the object type being assigned to it. This streamlines a lot of code when translating from something like C or VB to Python.

2 Likes

You need an instance of that object and then you can call any method or get any property from it.