Learning Optimo + Robot Structural Analysis

Hi everyone, my name is Claudio and i’m a structural engineering student.
I’m trying to learn Optimo and add GA to my knowleadge but i’m having some difficoult. I made some exercise by myself but i have this error steadily in the NSGA_II.AssignFitnessFuncResults.

“Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection parameter name:index”

I think to have understood the mechanism behind this package but i know nothing about programming.
I’m sure it’s a stupid error i’m making but i can not undestand where it is. I’m using Robot Structural Analysis to calculate the structure but i had the same error in another exercise using only dynamo.

I post this example where i’m searching for the coordinate “Z” of the middle point of my beam (arc) that minimize the positive bending moments. It has nothing userful it’s just an exercise to learn.

I’m a new user and i can’t post more than 1 imagine per post.

Fitness Function 1

Fitness Function 2

Fitness Function 3

Hi @cleo.beca, pardon my ignorance, but what is Optimo?

Hi @Jorge_Villarroel, Optimo it’s a dynamo package to find optimal solution to several problems using an iterative process (this is a very poor explanation but i’m a newbie too)
You can find a more exaustive explanation at the following link.

2 Likes

Thanks! I’ll give it a try.

Are you using Dynamo 0.7 to 0.9? I run into problems using Optimo on Dynamo 1.0+

I use dynamo 1.3 but i think that the problem is about the fact that i’m not able to make the populutation to be analyzed one by one.
Speaking about the example i’ve post i noticed that robot doesn’t create a file for every single member of the population but it use all the list.
For example; if i use a population of five elements i’ll have a SINGLE robot file with all the five member used together and not 5 different files with the population analyzed separately, and this obviusly mess up everything.