Making corners of PolyCurve all 90 degrees from random points

Hello,

For a project, I’d like to randomly generate a sort of L-shape form which always has 6 corners of 90 degrees each.

So far I have:

1. Randomly generated 2 lists of 6 random numbers within a given range to then form a list of 6 random points.
  2. Use the approach described here to organize my points clockwise and create a PolyCurve from them.

I end up with the PolyCurve below for my given seeds. I am now looking for advice on how to transform the PolyCurve so that each of its corners become 90 degrees and the shape turns into the purple one which I drew. Any ideas?

This is my first time posting on here so please let me know if I need to provide more information in order to receive assistance!

It’s an interesting problem, but I think you’ve overcomplicated it quite a bit.

By generating random points and then realigning them to meet your specific requirements you’re doing a lot of work for nothing. I would suggest a more simplified approach that allows you to build up each requirement step-by-step, without any destructive processes:

1. Generate a random starting point.
  2. Generate a random vector to be the first leg of the L.
  3. Generate another random vector, perpendicular to the first, to be the second leg.
  4. Generate a random thickness for the L (or both legs individually).
  5. Widen the leg curves by the thickness value and combine the surfaces.
2 Likes

I’d go a different route.

1. Generate a random coordinate system using values for the origin and X, Y and Z vectors.
  2. Generate a random point on the X axis, at the origin, and on the Y axis of the coordinate system.
  3. Build a polycurve using a Polycurve.ByJoinedPoints node.
  4. Thicken the polycirve using a Polycurve.ByThickeningCurve.Normal node, where the normal is the Z axis of the coordinate system.
3 Likes

Thank you both! I started with Nick’s suggestion and will try Jacob’s as well next (to get more practice).