Issues with Setting Instance Parameters from Excel

EXCEL DOWNLOAD LINK

DYNAMO SCRIPT DOWNLOAD LINK

Hi All,

Apologies in advance if this is a relatively simple post compared to what the forum is used to dealing with but I am a complete Dynamo noob!

I am currently trying to write a script (see image or download link above) which reads an excel file (see download link above) containing Sheet Numbers, Sheet Names and various other data pertaining to the sheets. I’ve got the script to automatically generate and label sheets using the data from the excel file as intended, however, I am having issues with the next step: Within the excel spreadsheet is a column titled “NORTH ARROW” with values of YES or NO. The titleblocks within my project have an instance parameter named “North Arrow”, which controls the the visibility of the north arrow (on/off) within each titleblock instance.

My intention is to have the script, individually set this “North Arrow” parameter to ON or OFF depending on the values provided in the excel spreadsheet, with YES=ON and NO=OFF.

My (assumed) workflow is as follows:

1. Convert YES and NO values from excel spreadsheet into boolean true/false values.
    (I’ve attempted to do this using a code block (see ‘Convert to Boolean’ group within script) although I’m not sure this is correct).
  2. Set “North Arrow” parameter using true/false list of values.

The issue I’m having is with the Element.SetParameterByName node, which gives me the following error message:
Warning: Element.SetParameterByName operation failed.
No parameter found by that name.

Not sure where I’m going wrong…I’ve double and triple checked the spelling of the parameter “North Arrow” within the titleblock family.

Any suggestions at all would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your help!