Insert structural framing instead of mullions in curtain walls

Hello, I will make a presentation in RTC Europe after a bit more than a month and I will talk about Detailed Curtain wall modeling so I thought I will include Dynamo to make this happen.
I am new to Dynamo, or I should say I was a month ago.
So my idea as a first step is to Create Curtain Wall with mullions in Revit and by using Dynamo, convert mullions to structural framing elements, so I could get real length elements.
I’ve listed, grouped lines, points in different ways I could think of and got almost good results - top and bottom elements are split to <6 m lengths, I have vertical elements going from top to bottom.
But I really have this talent to make simple things complicated :slight_smile:

could anybody make comments on my dynamo file and a way I used it? can I optimize it? please, without Python :slight_smile:

1 Like

Is all of the framing the same member or does it vary?

I would like to make them vary.

Can you also elaborate further on this statement?

ok, so mullions in Revit goes from point to point right? from intersection of grid lines to other intersection?
if I am engineer, who needs to prepare detailed drawings of curtain wall with all quantities…for example - I will make one element which will go from top to bottom instead of 3 elements divided at horizontal grid points…
like you see in the picure below - Revit curtain wall and wall created with my dynamo nodes (note that I use any kind of beams at the moment, it will be changed later)

Curtain grids have a full curve parameter, would that work?

Curtain Grid nodes are from Rhythm

yeah, I think this will reduce at least few nodes in every of my branches. Thanks, I will try to use that in upcoming days.
I am still fighting with sorting a lot, so it takes time :slight_smile:

1 Like

chm…I cant find node - curtain grid by element in 1.1.0.2094 Dynamo?