Import Geometry to Revit

Hello Everyone,

So I am very new to Dynamo (and Revit and Rhino)… I have a deadline and I am starting to lose all hope.
It is not a very original subject but I am quite lost right now.
So, I have a Rhino file, that I exported in SAT by layer with the origin. I assembled this geometry in dynamo. And I want to put it into Revit.
It seems to work fine (I have my entire bridge in dynamo) until the last node(importinstance .bygeometries).
You can see that i tried to do it with only one layer.

But then Nothing happens in Revit. I tried to do that in a blank georeferenced revit project. And it seems that Revit acknowledge some kind of import in the VV window.

Any suggestion?

Thanks a lot :slight_smile:

I don’t do a lot of geometry importing but have you tried DirectShape?

@timothee.holla Check if the project units in Revit match the imported geometry units

Can you preview the results of the ImportInstance.ByGeometries node? May be a units or distance from origin issue.

Maybe try some other export formats from Rhino directly into Revit - SAT | DWG | DGN | SKP | DXF (if desperate!)

For SketchUp, export from Rhino as Collada DAE, save as SKP format for Revit.

Also note that Revit only accepts SOLIDS as import Geometry cleanly; Revit really doesn’t have any true support for 2D mesh objects.

I note that in your graph you have lots of Surfaces - these probably need to have an extruded thickness added for Revit to recognise them correctly as geometry.

Lastly - the georeferencing is also likely to be a major issue - if your object in Rhino is more than 9144m (Autodesk says 20 miles, but my Revit throws errors at 9144m. YMMV) from the origin Revit is likely to behave in strange random ways; including but not limited to, not showing your imported object.

Recenter your object closer to the origin in Rhino.