How to use wombat Wall.ByProfile for Wall Finishes

Hello,
I want to use the Wall.ByProfile node provided in the wombat package for Wall Finishes. I’m new to Dynamo so I’m not able to figure this out. Earlier i was using Wall.ByFace node for wall finishes using In-Place Mass. However, Massing Method has its limitations. We need to use this for plaster quantities (in area) and since we use composite models(AR+ST+MEP).

Please help!

Can you post what you have tried? Also a small file relative to the type of situations you have for others to test on, and an example of what you would want the outcome to be.

Also which version of Revit you are in will matter quite a bit here, as there are a lot of changes in wall capabilities in 2022 and coding tools in 2023 (and maybe more in 2024… 2025…).

Hello Jacob, appreciate the quick response. I am using Revit 2022. Will post it asap. Im actually unable to figure out how to use this node. I basically need to place a plaster wall on the existing brick wall and not have to manually profile it. I want the plaster wall to be profiled exactly as the brick wall I am placing it on to. Similar to the Pick-Face command for walls in revit. Will upload screenshots of the requirement in a bit.

1 Like

Hello,
I have uploaded a sample file. The Model in the left is the type of output I need. I need the the plaster ‘wall’ to automatically profile themselves to the host brick wall. unfortunately the pick line command that works on walls, does not automatically profile the wall while the Pick face command that automatically profiles the wall, does not work on walls because it needs a generic or mass model. Thanks.
Example to upload.rvt (5.8 MB)

I was trying to use this method, however it was giving totally different results in Revit 2022 amd not working as intended to:

I’ll try and have a look at this tomorrow - pretty well past quitting time here now.