How to use Civil 3D API command Alignment.PointLocation(station, offset, easting, northing) with python

Hi
I am new to Civil 3D API. Now I am trying to use some of the Civil 3D command with python inside Revit Dynamo or Rhino.Inside Grasshopper.

I have somehow established a connection to the Civil 3D active document inside Revit Dynamo or grasshopper. However when I get to use this command Alignment.PointLocation(station, offset, easting, northing), the python editor returned nothing although no error occurred.

Can anyone with this experience give me any hint on this?

Thanks in advance

Hi @Josh.Wang,

I don’t have much experience with Grasshopper, but I can help with the Civil 3D side. Are you able to get the alignment names correctly? In other words, is it just that particular method that isn’t working?

Also, I’m pretty sure for that method you need to pass the easting and northing by reference.

Hi
Never tried it before Inside the Revit program
Do you use this method to connect?
You can try this method in the link

Hi @mzjensen Zachri
Thanks for your speedy reply.
I guess it’s more of a python syntax issue as i am not entirely sure how to pass reference objects onto a method to get updated values for those objects with python.
For your question, i can get the alignment names correctly and the starting/ending station value.
It will be great if you can provide a python version of using this particular method.

Many thanks

Hi @hosneyalaa
Thanks for sharing. I am indeed using this method to establish the connection. Just need to update the m_sAcadProdID and m_sAeccAppProgId to corresponding Civil3D version, then should be able to connect.

You should be able to just do something like this:

easting, northing = align.PointLocation(station, elevation, 0, 0)