How to place revit groups at point

I have some MEP family elements saved as a Revit group. How can I insert that group in a new Revit model by specifying location? What packages are available for that? Where can I download it from? As a newbie in Dynamo- I am not very good at programming. Thanks.

Have you tied this?

I have tried that, but could not figure out all of it. I will try again tomorrow. Thanks.

Also Dynamonodes.com is a nice resource to find packages:

• DynamoMEP has a node called Group.PlaceGroupInstance
  • SeamNodes has a node called Tool.PlaceGroupAtPoint

You can download them in the package manager:
http://dynamoprimer.com/en/10_Packages/10-1_Introduction.html

Good luck tomorrow!

2 Likes

Probably because of being newbie- I could not figure it out yet.
I was able to place family components at created points- but need to figure out a way to place multiple families (connected with Pipes and fittings- saved as a group). Any other thoughts? Thanks.

Just like @Einar_Raknes is saying you can use DynamoMEP to place groups. The only trick is that you have to use their nodes to make the groups in the first place. Like this:

What doesn’t exactly work as you want it, is the part that you already have the Groups created and you just want to place them. I guess you would need to do a little Python scripting. From top of my head the Group instantiation method is doc.Create.PlaceGroup(point, groupType).

4 Likes

Thanks a lot. It clarifies the problem.
Hope the solution won’t be too far.
Regards.

Hi I had a question regarding this node.Could you place groups to spaces??
Thanks