How to find value of built in parameter without knowing category?

Hello everyone,
I have prepared an excel table in which I have collected built in parameters (BIP) that I need (import). I want to find out the values of the BIP. However, the problem is that I can not find the category and I do not know how to access these parameters and give a value in case. For example, how can I find out the sum of all rooms?

I am so happy for some help! I am completely new to Dynamo and I am trying hard to gather all information out of the forum but couldnt reach what I need…

Thank you so much!

https://forum.dynamobim.com/t/get-project-parameters-parameter-data-name-disc-type-group-and-categories-they-belong-to-to-export-in-excel/51027https://forum.dynamobim.com/t/how-to-know-if-built-in-parameters-are-type-instance-family-parameters/61503 …

1 Like

I’m not quite sure I’m following your problem, but you might be able to use the GetParameterValueByName node to report information.

You can also use a GetCategory node to report the category of the elements you feed into it, if that is of use to you?

When you say sum of all rooms, do you mean the sum of the room areas?

If so, you’ll want to get a list of all rooms (Categories node set to Rooms → All Elements of Category node), then from that you’ll want to use a GetParameterValueByName node and a code block that says “Area”; (there might be a node that reports area, I’m not at my pc so can’t check).

This will list out all the room areas, which you can do what you like with.

Hello Dan,
thank you very much for your answer! Yes, I dropped using the built in parameters and switched to the method as you suggested. Its not actually what I was looking for but it works, thank you :slight_smile:
About the sum of the areas, is there no way that there is a parameter that already has the value which I can just extract? I hoped, for instance ANALYTICAL_MODEL_AREA already has the value