Get project or survey coordinates of structural column/ any element

Can Any body help me out with python script to get project or survey coordinates of structural column/ any element.

I am new to Python scripting. Guidance towards basics of what i should look at would be appriciated, Thank you,

Regards

You could do that with nodes.

A quick example…

This is with respect to survey base point.

Meaning , if i change my project base point these values wont change. Do they …?

Within revit columns can be a point or a curve, depending on if they are/not a slanted column(see below images).

If you get the solid centroid wouldn’t this Z value be half way up the element not the Z value that might be wanted if it is wanted.

To do this in python you would input the column elements into the python node then get its Location type, then do a filter between curve or point so you end up with two lists of elements depending on if they have a curve or a point.

For a curve you will then need to get both its start and end points. Once you have these points you should be able to get their point data and use the revit api transform command. This should then give you the world coordinates for that element.

You could extract Element.Curves (but they’re not always available by default)

The Start Point and End Point can then be extracted.

Hello Vikram,

Thank you for your response.

Here is what i am trying to do and stuck. Image below will help you understand my problem clearly.

Try using the Column family provided below.

Concrete-Rectangular-Column.rfa

20151228-2

Hi Vikram,

These coordinates are according to survey base point in revit.

When we change project base point to zero these point does not update/change according to project base point.

I hope you got what i am trying to explain , Image in the above comment explains it.

Thank you,

You could do so this way…

Hello Vikram, Thank you soo much. That one solved my problem. This is what i was trying to do .

dynamo