Find Geometry ONLY INSIDE a room

Hi I am still new to Revit and Dynamo. I am working on a task to optimize floor tile fitting in a room. I made a dynamo script to draw lines and create rectangles (squares) to represent the tiles. I can pick a wall and use the finish face of that wall as the start axis to draw the rectangles. In the screenshot I drew a sample room and used the bottom wall as the starting axis.

Since I need to find the number of tiles used, I used Geometry.DoIntersect to find the rectangles intersecting the surface created from the room boundary curve. However, the problem is it counts the rectangles circled in red as well because they intersect the room boundary, but they are actually OUTSIDE the room. What can I do to exclude this kind of rectangles, and only include rectangles INSIDE the room?

Thank you very much for any help.

Shown here are the rectangles found to be intersecting the room boundary. The bottom row and rightmost column are intersecting the boundary but actually outside the room. My problem is I don’t know how to exclude them :frowning:

Instead of asking if the tiles intersect with the room, actually perform the intersection test. This will give you tiles with an area equal to the width x the length of the tile when they fit in the room, while tiles which don’t fit in the room will have an area less than the width x the length of the tile. Comparing the surface area of each tile to find the tiles which are less than that length and width value will give you a list which can be counted to find the number of tiles which don’t fit.

3 Likes