Filter All Elements of Family Type selection by parameter

Hi,

I’m new to Dynamo and started my first graphs yesterday.

I have managed to get Dynamo to select walls by Type and set a parameter value (Unconnected Height) - my first successful routine.

Is there a way to filter a the selection by a parameter value ?

I would like to set up a routine to correct the Workset assignments in a Revit model - starting with a simple internal walls selection. I’d envisaged something like this:

Category=Walls ----> All Elements of Category —> Limit the selection to those walls where Type Parameter “Function”=“Interior” ---->Assign those elements to the Workset “04-Internal Partitions”.

I’d appreciate it if someone could provide a clue on how to filter the selection, particularly which node/s to use.

Many thanks

Martin

Take a look at this post. Should get you there. Link

Hello Martin, I think your logic is exact. The only problem that i faces trying to work with worksets through Dynamo is that Dynamo only retrieves some sort of numerical Id of the worksets. My way of working around this is:

-selecting a model element that is in the workset i’m interested in to retrieve the Id of this workset (circles in yellow in the image)

-I select and filter my elemets by parameter value (exactly as you said)

-I use the Id of the workset to set the parameter value of all the elements

there are probably more advances ways to do so but this is pretty simple and does the job. Hope it helps!

2 Likes

Firstly, apologies for not replying sooner - it’s been a crunch week and I’ve had no time to delve into Dynamo.

Thanks for the replies, I’ll read that other post Steven.

Mostafa, thanks for that - I can see the logic in that flow, I wasn’t sure on exactly how to use the BoolMask but that explains it. I hope to get some time this weekend to play around with the routine again.