Even Vertical Spacing of Mtext

Hey Dynamo community. I’m new to the Dynamo and python scene but have been working hard to improve. I’m hoping someone can help guide me here. I wrote a script in python that takes keynote numbers from a given civil 3D sheet view and returns an excel file with the corresponding notes.

I have pulled this excel file into dynamo, created lists, and generated the blocks and mtext as intended. However, I am having trouble formatting it. When I decrease the width of the mtext, the text is no longer evenly spaced and the keynote blocks no longer line up with the text.

It seems I need to conduct some sort of transformation command that references the bounding box width of each mtext item and sets spacing this way. THEN, grab the midpoint coordinate of each mtext object and place each keynote horizontally offset. Typically in CAD this operation would be done with the “Text Align” command and setting a spacing, but I am unable to find an equivalent operation in Dynamo.

It looks like the text does line up with the keynote blocks, it’s just that the vertical attachment on the MText node is set at the default, which is “Top”. In your picture, it looks like the top left corner of each MText is aligned with the insertion point of the block (i.e. same Y coordinate). So if you want them aligned with the middle of the text, just change the vertical attachment to “Middle” with a string input.

1 Like

Thanks for your time,

I have made this change. However, this does not achieve what my finished goal is. The problem is the vertical spacing between items is the same, regardless of each mtext’s total vertical height. I would like the mtext to be spaced evenly between the text, not between the center point of each text. As shown:

Rather than:

Ah OK, I see what you’re trying to do now. So it’s the spacing between the bottom of one MText and the top of the next one that matters, and the spacing between the blocks is irrelevant.