Dynamo revit for climate architecture

Hello world! I am an architecture student, I would like to complete my thesis with climate responsive computational model (form follows climate) today is my first day hoping to spend 3 hrs per day for 1months. Pls share your experiences with me I am totally new for computational design.

I am gonna use dynamo for .generative forms (I will give sun path/direction as my input, I am expecting to get better shades as output)
I believe I hAve to give lot of input more then sun path :grin:

Honestly if you are using climate data and computational design it may be worth considering Grasshopper and Ladybug tools - they’re the industry standard in this space. They used to be supported in Dynamo to some degree, but pulled out in Revit 2020 for various reasons:

If you’re set on Revit/Dynamo then look into Insight if you don’t need to build your own script, otherwise you’ll need to take on the Dynamo Primer to begin your pilgrimage:

I have a tutorial here showing how to do sun hour analysis in Revit without Ladybug, but it’s an awful lot of work and not beginner friendly. I also have a full tutorial on sun hour analysis using Rhino Inside and Revit as an alternative:

thanks for answering my question. i want to clarify that why i wanted dynamo 1.i believe dynamo can integrated with revit ( so as materials,and structure analysis etc)
pls clarify me more
i dont have problem in learning anything.
i wanted to reduce energy usage and passive cooling techniques in my design. which is best for that i dont have time to learn both actually :frowning:

@Dulman <
Also a good reference as well.

1 Like

There is hours of learning in those videos and resources, plenty of clarity there.