Dynamo generated Voronoi 3D Printed Arm Cast

The Goal

Ipad +Structure Sensor scanner > .OBJ > into Meshmixer

Download .obj on A360

Dynamo + Meshtoolkit + Revit = 3dscanstep1.dyn (25.4 KB)

Then > 3dscanstep2.dyn (80.5 KB)

I am in need of direction, please.
I have tried many things with no success.

I have no experience in meshes, nurbs surfaces. My thoughts were to import the obj convert to a mesh then apply the “Synthesize” Package to create Voronoi pattern on the face. This did not work. I thought perhaps I needed a surface to do this, so I proceeded to create a simplified surface by getting several cross sections through which I wanted to loft a surface over. This is not working.

Working through this many times I wanted to reduce the run time so I exported the points data to excel ( Book1.xlsx (15.9 KB)
) rather than regenerate every time, hence the 2 separate .dyn files “3dscanstep1.dyn” & “3dscanstep2.dyn”. In both files there are iterations of ways I have tried to proceed. They are commented and grouped.

Your time is important. I am not asking for someone to solve this for me but would love any recommendations on a way to accomplish this even if my current efforts are not valid.

“Synthesize” Package to create Voronoi pattern reference:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R5cOxBHqIpc&t=434s

@Karam_Baki #Karam_Baki

1 Like

Hi dbrokaw
Things you need to note ,
Synthesize toolkit have been updated hugely since that video, therefore the video you pasted is considered outtdated,

Install the latest Synthesize toolkit version use the Dynamo player with it,
Follow this video :slight_smile:

And you will find in Dynamo player a node called : Geometry.Voronoi Generator (Adaptive)
I haven’t published any video about it,
But you can use it easily, it contains some factors like X and Y and Z, to stretch the Voronoi grid and so on,

Now, you need to note, that you cannot achieve the exact result in the source image your provided ,

Reasons :