Dynamo, Cleaning up T-Splines

Hi I’m trying to Create a workflow for a Tool i’ve been designing. Basically a point-and-click Revit Voronoi Shape Creator.

So the jist of the tool is to use the T-Splines feature in experimental mode to build pipes along the linework. The linework it self is an adaptation of Lynn Kims homemade Voronoi pattern creator. I’m quite new to T-Splines so I’m not sure of what a best practice solution might look like.

Steps i’ve taken:

• select any surface in Revit
  • set parameters for the radius and quantity of nodes
  • create spheres that cut your surface
  • extract the linework
  • project onto the surface
  • use the node TSplineSurface.BuildPipes to get a smooth looking lattice.

Steps remaining:

• clean up the geometry, I get overlapping surfaces and I have no idea how to best go about creating a union out of everything.
  • exporting the result to Revit.

I believe I have a lot of issues due to the fact that there are a lot of intersecting surfaces. My goal is to merge it together.

Is there a way to export the shape directly into Revit?

Below I have added the nodes and picture for reference.

2 Likes

I have identified 2 different ways to go about it, but I can’t quite manage to reach the desired result:

Option 1): cleaning up the linework before creating T-Splines:
The linework created is a multitude of curves that each intersect the next adjacent curve segment (see red and blue linework below)

I have a feeling that the TSplines BuildPipe will not work properly if I clean the linework before sending it to the BuildPipe node.

Option 2) Merging the shapes so that the intersecting parts gets cut and then glued together.
Here is where I get lost, because I have very little experience working with TSplines.

Edit: uploaded the original rvt and dyn-file:
Surface-TsplinePipes.dyn (62.1 KB)
Surface-TSplinePipes.rvt (2.0 MB)

hi,
have you tried to convert it to mesh, then use DirectShape.ToMesh ?

1 Like