Door rename by room

Hi guys, I just started learning Dynamo and Python a couple of days ago.

I was following Konrad tutorial on door numbering http://archi-lab.net/door-numbering-v2-0-for-dynamo-0-8-0/

The script is great. I’ve been mocking around the code and the nodes to make it work with Revit 2016 and the latest package updates. And everything worked fine (thanks Konrad for such a great work on this)

I now want to modify the script a bit so that it will define the “entry apartment door” from the core/lobby as door 01 and then all internal doors will start to be numbered clockwise from this defined entry door position.

My thoughts:

1. Create a list of doors that open from the central core into the apartment .

2. Find the instances location of list 1 above

3. Calculate vector angle between these doors location with the room location

4. Make this angle become 0

5. Other doors angle will also need to be adjusted with the same formular in 4 so that it will start clockwise from the entry door.

With my limited understanding of Dynamo and Python, i would appreciate any helps with this. Thanks!

1 Like

Refer this http://archi-lab.net/door-numbering-v2-0-for-dynamo-0-8-0/

Hi Kulkul, the script that i used was exactly just that - downloaded and modified from archi-lab.the imaged attached previously was the result of that. However the door number “01” is always defined based on the smallest vector angle so I have no control over which door I want to start as number “01”. My question was how to define the door “01” location based on the room it is opened from (say central lobby).

Updates - I managed to extract the list of the apartment entry doors and calculated their vector angles. I now have 2 separate lists:

List 1- Vector angles of all doors in the projects

List 2- Vector angles of the entry doors only.