DirectShape to show Cable Tray clearance

I am new to Dynamo and looking to create a script for my office that will add a modelled clearance above and to either side of all cable trays in the model. The clearance should be 300mm from the surface of the cable tray. I have these two options that I found online.

This one creates the DirectShape as a single solid which will be critical in allowing our modellers to delete the old clearance and regenerate it when cable trays have changed. It also keeps to the shape of bends in the cable tray since it is copying the geometry 1:1. However, it only makes the clearance as extend as far as the height of the cable tray.

This one essentially extrudes the DirectShape directly from the surfaces of the cable tray.

I think the best solution would be to raise the generic model in the first example by half the desired clearance and then expand it up and down by the required amount to reach back to the cable tray. Then, apply the same logic for the sides. Is this the best way to do this? I’m not sure how to do it. Any help would be immensely appreciated.

That’s because it’s using the Height of the cable tray. You can make it whatever height you want.

The simplest shape is going to be your best bet. You don’t need to match the exact shape for clearances as you really only care about covering the extremes. Just because you can technically place something without intersecting a clear space doesn’t mean you should and will likely complicate things anyway.

1 Like