Deleting specific multiple shared parameters in multiple families at once

Hey there,
I’m a newbie to Revit and Dynamo. Is it possible to delete multiple specific shared parameters in multiple families at once? For example: I have many window families in a folder on my computer that all contain the same shared parameters. I now want to remove 2 (as an example) shared parameters from all the window families. Instead of going into each family and removing the parameters manually, is it possible to remove the parameters from all the families at once?
And if that is possible, could I then also add multiple shared parameters to multiple families at once?

1 Like

@alshammary.l ,

here i had a similar topic

https://forum.dynamobim.com/guidelines

1 Like

You can’t edit a family without opening it. You could programmatically open all the families, edit them, and save them, but that is pretty intensive compute wise, as you have to open all the files at once and Revit doesn’t like using that many documents at once.

Why not start a new project with no template, add all of the families and types to the project, delete the shared parameters, and then save out all the families using the “save as library” function?

2 Likes

2022-07-27_15h50_11

Thanks for the reply. Are you suggesting that I open each family manually and delete the shared parameters in them as well? If so, then that is exactly what I’m trying to avoid. The reason I don’t want to do this manually is because this will happen often. The company I work at uses product numbers as shared parameters in their families. So all the window families have the same product number as a shared parameter in them. The problem is that the product number changes from time to time. This doesn’t only happen with the window families, but with all the other types of families as well. So ideally I need to find a way to delete the product number shared parameter in all families at once.